It’s the end of the year, have you guys planned your leave yet? Looking at the holidays some suggested dates to take leave are :

  • 31 Jan (Mon) & 2 Feb (Wed) to get 1 week off (for KL)
  • 14 Jan & 16 May (Mon) to get a long, 4-day weekend

Of course this is subject to which public holiday your company observes or gives in-lieu. Here’s a list of holidays which I split up by KL/Selangor and other States. Feel free to copy paste any of the tables below!

Public Holidays in Kuala Lumpur & Selangor

Date Holiday Applicable to
1 Jan (Sat) New Year All except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu
20 Jan (Thu) Thaipusam * Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang & Selangor only
1 Feb (Tue) Federal Territory Day Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya only
3 Feb (Thu) Chinese New Year All
4 Feb (Fri) Chinese New Year (Day 2) All except Kelantan and Terengganu
15 Feb (Tue) Maulidur Rasul (Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday) All
1 May (Sun) Labour Day All
17 May (Tues) Wesak Day All
4 Jun (Sat) Agong’s Birthday All
17 Aug (Wed) Nuzul Al-Quran Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor & Terengganu only
30 Aug (Tue) Hari Raya Puasa * All
31 Aug (Wed) Hari Raya Puasa *

National Day

All

All

16 Sep (Fri) Malaysia Day All
26 Oct (Wed) Deepavali All
6 Nov (Sun) Hari Raya Haji * All
17 Nov (Sun) Awal Muharram (Maal Hijrah) All
11 Dec (Sun) Sultan of Selangor’s Birthday Selangor only
25 Dec (Sun) Christmas All

* subject to change

Public Holidays outside Kuala Lumpur & Selangor

Date Holiday Applicable to
1 Jan (Sat) New Year All except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu
20 Jan (Thu) Thaipusam * Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang & Selangor only
1 Feb (Tue) Federal Territory Day Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya only
3 Feb (Thu) Chinese New Year All
4 Feb (Fri) Chinese New Year (Day 2) All except Kelantan and Terengganu
15 Feb (Tue) Maulidur Rasul (Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday) All
4 Mar (Fri) Anniversary of Installation of Sultan of Terengganu Terengganu only
30 Mar (Wed) Sultan of Kelantan’s Birthday Kelantan only
31 Mar (Thu) Sultan of Kelantan’s Birthday Kelantan only
15 Apr (Fri) Declaration of Malacca as a Historical City Melacca only
19 Apr (Tue) Sultan of Perak’s Birthday Perak only
22 Apr (Fri) Good Friday Sabah & Sarawak only
1 May (Sun) Labour Day All
7 May (Sat) Hari Hol Pahang Pahang only
17 May (Tue) Wesak Day

Raja Perlis’ Birthday

All

Perlis only

30 May (Mon) Harvest Festival Sabah & Labuan only
31 May (Tue) Harvest Festival Sabah & Labuan only
1 Jun (Wed) Hari Gawai Sarawak only
2 Jun (Thu) Hari Gawai Sarawak only
4 Jun (Sat) Agong’s Birthday All
29 Jun (Wed) Israk & Mikraj Kedah, Negeri Sembilan & Perlis only
7 Jul (Thu) Georgetown World Heritage City Day Penang only
9 Jul (Sat) Penang Governor’s Birthday Penang only
20 Jul (Wed) Sultan of Terengganu’s Birthday Terengganu only
1 Aug (Mon) Awal Ramadan * Johor, Kedah & Malacca only
17 Aug (Wed) Nuzul Al-Quran Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor & Terengganu only
30 Aug (Tue) Hari Raya Puasa * All
31 Aug (Wed) Hari Raya Puasa *

National Day

All

All

10 Sep (Sat) Sarawak Governor’s Birthday Sarawak only
16 Sep (Fri) Malaysia Day All
1 Oct (Sat) Sabah Governor’s Birthday Sabah only
8 Oct (Sat) Malacca Governor’s Birthday Malacca only
24 Oct (Mon) Sultan of Pahang’s Birthday Pahang only
26 Oct (Wed) Deepavali All
6 Nov (Sun) Hari Raya Haji * All
7 Nov (Mon) Hari Raya Haji (2nd day) * Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu only
22 Nov (Tue) Sultan of Johor’s Birthday Johor only
17 Nov (Sun) Awal Muharram (Maal Hijrah) All
25 Dec (Sun) Christmas All

* subject to change

Source : here

Musings : Wonder if I should create PDF files of the cuti? Also can someone help check on Sultan of Kelantan’s birthday appearing twice in the table. Odd